ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB vs Crucial BX500 120GB

ADATAUltimate SU650 120GB120 GB · 520 MB/s · 320 MB/s · 70 TBW
CrucialBX500 120GB120 GB · 540 MB/s · 500 MB/s · 720 TBWLeads on Sequential read
In short

The site holds no current price for at least one of these, so what follows compares specifications alone.

SpecificationADATAUltimate SU650 120GBCrucialBX500 120GB
Capacity (GB)120120
Sequential read (MB/s)520540better
Sequential write (MB/s)320500better
Current best price97,28 €at Amazon.de · captured 2026-09-02
Price per TB810,67 €
Endurance (TBW)70720better
Warranty (years)33
DRAM cacheNo
NAND typetlc
ControllerSilicon Motion SM2259XT

How these two compare

Sequential throughput

ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB is rated 520 MB/s read and 320 MB/s write; Crucial BX500 120GB, 540 MB/s read and 500 MB/s write. The SATA link tops out around 550 MB/s each way, and both work against that ceiling; the more telling differences between SATA drives are how each holds up under sustained load, whether it carries a DRAM cache, and how much writing it is rated to take.

Endurance

The makers warrant 70 TBW on ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB and 720 TBW on Crucial BX500 120GB — how much writing each is rated to take before the endurance clause lapses. Most desktop workloads never come close, so read the two against each other rather than as a limit you are likely to reach.

DRAM cache

the catalog does not state whether ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB carries a DRAM cache; Crucial BX500 120GB is DRAM-less. A DRAM cache holds the drive's mapping table — the index of where each block physically sits — so the controller places and finds data without an extra flash lookup. A DRAM-less drive borrows a little system memory (HMB) or a slice of its own flash instead, and is likelier to slow once a long run of random writes outlasts its fast cache.

NAND, controller and warranty

NAND: ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB's NAND is not stated and Crucial BX500 120GB uses TLC. The tier is bits per cell — SLC, MLC, TLC and QLC from one to four — trading density against endurance and sustained-write speed: QLC is cheapest per gigabyte, TLC the mainstream balance, and the denser the cell the sooner sustained writes taper. On the controller: ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB's controller is not stated, and Crucial BX500 120GB uses the Silicon Motion SM2259XT. It is the chip handling error correction, wear-levelling and where each write lands — much of how a drive holds up under load — even if the part number on its own tells you little. On the cover: ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB carries a 3-year warranty, Crucial BX500 120GB carries a 3-year warranty. The length is the maker's own vote of confidence, and on an SSD it tends to track the endurance rating — a longer warranty usually meaning more rated writes.

Which to buy

With a price missing for at least one side, there is no cost verdict to give. What separates two otherwise-similar drives is up in the sections above — sustained and random behaviour, whether there is a DRAM cache, the flash tier and the warranty — so weigh those against what your build needs.

Common questions about this pair

Which is faster, ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB or Crucial BX500 120GB?
ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB is rated 520 MB/s read and 320 MB/s write; Crucial BX500 120GB, 540 MB/s read and 500 MB/s write. The SATA link tops out around 550 MB/s each way, and both work against that ceiling; the more telling differences between SATA drives are how each holds up under sustained load, whether it carries a DRAM cache, and how much writing it is rated to take.
Should you buy ADATA Ultimate SU650 120GB or Crucial BX500 120GB?
With a price missing for at least one side, there is no cost verdict to give. What separates two otherwise-similar drives is up in the sections above — sustained and random behaviour, whether there is a DRAM cache, the flash tier and the warranty — so weigh those against what your build needs.
How we track prices