Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB vs TeamGroup MP44 8TB
On the measures that settle this, TeamGroup MP44 8TB never comes out behind, and on at least one it comes out ahead.
| Specification | SabrentRocket 4 Plus 8TB | TeamGroupMP44 8TB |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity (GB) | 8000 | 8000 |
| Sequential read (MB/s) | 7000 | 7000 |
| Sequential write (MB/s) | 6000 | 6000 |
| Current best price | $3,699.99at Amazon.com · captured 2026-09-13 | $1,299.99betterat Newegg · captured 2026-09-11 |
| Price per TB | $462.50 | $162.50better |
| Endurance (TBW) | 6000better | 4000 |
| Warranty (years) | 5 | 5 |
| DRAM cache | Yes | No |
| NAND type | tlc | — |
| Controller | Phison PS5018-E18 | — |
How these two compare
Sequential throughput
Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB is rated 7000 MB/s read and 6000 MB/s write; TeamGroup MP44 8TB, 7000 MB/s read and 6000 MB/s write. These are peak sequential rates over PCIe — the speed you would see copying one large file. For boot, app launches and everyday feel, random access matters more than this headline figure.
Price
Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB lists at $3,699.99, or $462.50 per TB; TeamGroup MP44 8TB at $1,299.99, or $162.50 per TB.
Endurance
The makers warrant 6000 TBW on Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB and 4000 TBW on TeamGroup MP44 8TB — how much writing each is rated to take before the endurance clause lapses. Most desktop workloads never come close, so read the two against each other rather than as a limit you are likely to reach.
DRAM cache
Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB carries a DRAM cache; TeamGroup MP44 8TB is DRAM-less. A DRAM cache holds the drive's mapping table — the index of where each block physically sits — so the controller places and finds data without an extra flash lookup. A DRAM-less drive borrows a little system memory (HMB) or a slice of its own flash instead, and is likelier to slow once a long run of random writes outlasts its fast cache.
NAND, controller and warranty
NAND: Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB uses TLC and TeamGroup MP44 8TB's NAND is not stated. The tier is bits per cell — SLC, MLC, TLC and QLC from one to four — trading density against endurance and sustained-write speed: QLC is cheapest per gigabyte, TLC the mainstream balance, and the denser the cell the sooner sustained writes taper. On the controller: Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB uses the Phison PS5018-E18, and TeamGroup MP44 8TB's controller is not stated. It is the chip handling error correction, wear-levelling and where each write lands — much of how a drive holds up under load — even if the part number on its own tells you little. On the cover: Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB carries a 5-year warranty, TeamGroup MP44 8TB carries a 5-year warranty. The length is the maker's own vote of confidence, and on an SSD it tends to track the endurance rating — a longer warranty usually meaning more rated writes.
Which to buy
TeamGroup MP44 8TB. It gives up nothing to the other on the measures the site tracks and leads on at least one, so there is no trade to weigh — the sections above show where the margin is.
Common questions about this pair
- Which is faster, Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB or TeamGroup MP44 8TB?
- Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB is rated 7000 MB/s read and 6000 MB/s write; TeamGroup MP44 8TB, 7000 MB/s read and 6000 MB/s write. These are peak sequential rates over PCIe — the speed you would see copying one large file. For boot, app launches and everyday feel, random access matters more than this headline figure.
- Which costs less per terabyte, Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB or TeamGroup MP44 8TB?
- Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB lists at $3,699.99, or $462.50 per TB; TeamGroup MP44 8TB at $1,299.99, or $162.50 per TB.
- Should you buy Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 8TB or TeamGroup MP44 8TB?
- TeamGroup MP44 8TB. It gives up nothing to the other on the measures the site tracks and leads on at least one, so there is no trade to weigh — the sections above show where the margin is.